Recipe: Cheese, Corn and Chives Savoury Muffins

The immense stress at work made me really fidgety one Wednesday night. Since I didn’t have my bike with me (am staying at my mum’s), I decided the next best thing would be to bake. I ambled around the supermarket for 20 minutes before heading home, flipping recipes on my phone and looking at the produce at the same time, hoping for an inspiration to hit me.

I knew I wanted to make some cheese muffins for the sister Y who has time and again expressed she much prefers savoury foods over sweets. I finally settled on getting some canned corn kernels and cheddar cheese, recalling mum had also bought some chives over the weekend.

I used this Food Network cheddar cheese muffin recipe as a base and threw in half a can of corn and about a tablespoonful of chives as an experiment. The result was surprisingly delicious and I can see these served for breakfast or tea. Next time around, I’m adding more corn kernels (maybe a whole can!) which provided a sweet crunch to the muffins and throwing in just a little more chives for an extra oomph.

Recipe: Cheese, Corn and Chives Savoury Muffins
(Makes 12 muffins)

Cheese corn and chive muffins

Ingredients:
1 cup milk
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted & then cooled
1 large egg, lightly beaten
1 pinch cayenne pepper
1 pinch mixed herbs (optional)
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup grated cheddar cheese
1/2 cup corn kernels, drained (i would recommend a full cup)
1-2 tbsp of chives

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
In a large bowl, combine milk, melted butter, egg & cayenne.
In a second bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, sugar & salt.
Stir in cheese.
Add flour mixture to milk mixture and stir batter until it is just combined. Halfway through, throw in the chives and corn in batches.
The batter should be lumpy (remember not to overmix!).
Spoon the batter into muffin tins (buttered or lined) filling each about 2/3 full.
Bake 20- 25 minutes.

– S

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

