Recipe: Lazy Sunday Bread Pudding

A is away for two shoots in Melbourne so here I am camping at Mum’s place where it’s clean, the floor is swept daily, there is a well-stocked pantry and fridge, there is cable to watch, the clothes are magically washed and ironed. Best thing is, I don’t have to worry about what I’m going to do with all the stuff I cook/bake ’cause there are more than two mouths to feed here! Only thing I’m missing is definitely my big comfy bed. I woke up bright and early at 8am with a slight ache in my back after sleeping on the leather sofa the whole night. Sofas are meant for sitting, really.

Because I’m a such a lovely and sweet daughter/sister, I decided to make some breakfast. I opened the fridge and occupying a large chunk of space was half a loaf of white bread. I was actually contemplating a lemon loaf but mum walked into the kitchen and said she would much prefer bread pudding because that would free up some space in the fridge. That’s my mum for you. Now you know where I got my practical genes from.

Honestly, it’s terribly simple, I kid you not. A 12-year-old could have made the same thing. All you need is a bowl and a whisk. I’m big on recipes that go easy on the washing. Maybe one day I should compile a series of recipes that only require you to wash a maximum of 3 utensils. It’ll be a hit, I’m sure.

These were baked for about 30 minutes; the insides were still moist and the sides and top were pretty crispy (not quite the typical bread pudding where it’s all squishy). If you like that mushy texture, then be sure to take it out of the oven earlier.

Just the thing for lazy Sunday mornings!

Lazy Sunday Bread Pudding

6 to 8 slices of old bread
2 tbsp butter, melted
4 eggs
220ml milk
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp cinnamon powder
100 grammes white sugar (it was a tad sweet for us; so reduce if you want it less sweet)
zest of 1 orange (optional but strongly recommended; the zest really gives the pudding an extra special lift)

1. Preheat oven to 175 degrees C.

2. Grease an 8 inch square pan with butter (I used two bread loaf tins instead).

3. Drizzle the melted butter over the bread. Lay them in the pan. You can sprinkle some raisins/nuts if you like.

4. Whisk eggs, milk, vanilla extract, cinnamon powder, sugar and zest in a bowl until well mixed.

5. Pour mixture over the bread, making sure that all of it is covered and soaked in the mixture.

6. Pop it in the oven and bake for about 30-40 minutes or until the top springs back when lighted tapped.

– S

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

