Recipe: Baileys Chocolate Chip Cake

I was bored. +

I was craving chocolate +

I had a bag of chocolate chips in the fridge. +

I was wondering what to do with the bottle of Baileys my friend gave me. =

The idea of a Baileys Chocolate Chip Cake!

I started googling for a recipe, given I was pretty damn sure I wasn’t a genius who had a eureka moment on a slow Saturday afternoon. Most of the recipes I found were chocolate cupcakes with Baileys buttercream. Even where the batter had Baileys, they usually called for only a few tablespoons. How is a cake to taste of Baileys with only a few tablespoons?? I wasn’t convinced and kept on going. And ta dah! I finally found one which asked for 1/2 cup of Baileys and decided to run with it with a few tweaks of my own. The next time I do this, I will sprinkle the chocolate chips on the batter just before popping it in the oven. Otherwise, I will dust the chips in flour before putting them into the batter to prevent them from sinking.

Oh by the way, if you had clicked on the original recipe you would have realised these were meant to be cupcakes. Yes, I’m lazy like that. Also I love cakes much better than cupcakes.

Anyhow, it turned out really yummy (though not so pretty bleh). The Irish cream was still quite subtle, but maybe the next time I should just swop the milk for more of it. For an ego boost, I brought it over to mum’s and together we polished 2/3 of the cake for tea!

Bailey’s Chocolate Chip Cake

160 grammes all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
75 grammes butter, softened
125 grammes sugar (this is the amount of sugar I used. if you like your treats sweeter, increase the amount.)
2 large eggs
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup regular Bailey’s Irish Cream
1/4 cup milk
2/3 cup mini chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 180 degrees celsius.

Line your cupcake tins. But as you can see, I was very lazy and decided to make a cake instead and thus I used a square tin. By right, I think this would have yielded about 8 cupcakes.

In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs one at a time, followed by vanilla extract. Mix in half of the flour mixture, followed by the irish cream and milk, then mix in the remaining flour mixture. Stir in chocolate chips.

Distribute batter evenly into prepared muffn cups (each will be roughly 2/3 or 3/4 full). I just poured the whole lot of batter into the square tin. Ah huh.

If you’re making cupcakes, bake the regular ones for 18-21 minutes, mini ones for 10-12 minutes. In case you do decide to bake your batch as a cake too, bake for about 20 minutes.

A tester inserted into the center will come out clean when the cupcakes are done. Tops should be domed and very lightly browned.

Viola!

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

